Christmas Wish List

Decoration

Do you ever take the time to sit down and take the time to think of all the things you wish for?

Over the years, as I’ve grown up, I’ve become too pragmatic and too busy. But childhood shouldn’t be the only time for wishing and dreaming.

The thing about wishes is that they speak of hope. It’s not a promise of hope but a desire for hope because a wish is not reality, at least not yet. It’s also not a guarantee. But if we are to truly be alive, we all need hope.

Hope is the light at the end of a dark tunnel beckoning us forwards on bad days and the reassuring warmth of the sun’s rays on good days.

I think of my Christmas wish list, a few practical items of need naturally pop into mind. But if I just let my mind fly free, from pragmatism and logic, what would I really wish for?

Sleep. To recoup close to four years of sleep debt. Quickly.

Time. That time would stand still as I caught up on lost sleep.

Wisdom. The smarts to know how to better use all my extra time.

Fitness. The instant formula to be fit, feel strong, be healthy and put off lifestyle induced poor health forever.

A united family. To be able to celebrate the intimate and loving family gatherings I’d always imagined when I was younger. To not have to accept what is.

No bad in the world. No crime, poverty, greed. More compassion, kindness, consideration and true goodwill, online, offline, everywhere.

My wishes may not come true in their entirety, but I can still make a small difference. For starters, I can learn to look after myself because I’m no good to anyone if I’m not okay. I can change my sleeping habits. I can learn to prioritise better and more efficiently use the time I do have. I can start exercising. I can start respecting my body more. I can start eating well. I can then be in a better place to look after my family. I can love them all, as they are, in the now. I can be in a better place as a citizen of the world. I can be charitable. I can teach my children kindness and compassion.

With every wish, there is always the hope for it to become a reality. To try and reach it is to be alive. I hope you feel this too.

Do you let yourself wish? What do you wish for?

Season’s Greetings! Wishing you and your family safe and happy holidays!

Related Posts

Chasing Light

A Cup of Daily Hope

Wordless Wednesday – Life, Hope, Love

**********

Thanking the lovely Grace from With Some Grace who tagged me to share my Christmas Wish list.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Wish List

  1. Oh,V. This is so heartfelt. I just want to reach through the screen and give you a hug. I know it’s been a year of challenges and change or you. I truly hope that you get some rest. And not just wish for it but really see it materialise into a reality.
    By the way, I love Grown Up Christmas List. I sang it for our church Christmad concert 2 years ago xxx

  2. I don’t really wish for much anymore – everything I really truly want is beyond my reach for one reason or another so it’s best to just remain real and pragmatic! I hope you do get the chance to reclaim your sleep debt though – it’s difficult to really live when you feel like a zombie – best wishes for the New Year Veronica!

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

