The stratosphere jump and childbirth

Stratosphere Jump by Felix Baumgartner

{image credit}

I’ve been living under a few rocks lately so have only just come across the historic stratosphere jump by Felix Baumgartner.

I watched this video with a lump in my throat. As he stood on the precipice of history, surveying our world below, the random thought came to me:

His jump was like childbirth.

The fact is, once he got a up there, he was going to have to jump. What other choice did he have?

It reminds me of how scared I was of childbirth before I was even close to getting pregnant. Once I become pregnant however, I had to get that baby out somehow! What other choice did I have but to push that fear aside?

I guess that’s a metaphor for life. We can stand on the precipice postponing the adventure or leap ahead and live, really live.

“The scariest moment is always just before you start. – Steven King”

Were you moved by his historic jump? If you’re a mother, did childbirth scare you as much as it used to me? Or are you a fearless daredevil on all accounts?

Related Posts

I Have to write

Where the path may lead

***************

Linking with With Some Grace for FlogYoBlogFriday (FYBF).

36 thoughts on “The stratosphere jump and childbirth

    • Jess, you might find the video I posted interesting. It was via a Christian site. And I guess you got over the terror since you ended up having four children! ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. Excellent quote from Stephen King at the end there. I too was terrified of childbirth before I was actually pregnant but then I found the more I read and prepared myself the more calm I became.

    • Kylie, your approach is interesting. I just responded to someone who didn’t really prepare for the impending at all. I think we are all so different in what it takes to get through the situations in our lives! And that is a cracker of a quote. I actually needed to read that again today!

  2. I think I wasn’t that scared of childbirth.. just really really excited to see our little baby! We were both still quite laid-back and didn’t think much of how it would change our lives. If we knew then what we know now, we might have been quite scared I reckon ;p

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

  3. It scared the crap out of me. I don’t deal well with pain. I did get slightly better come child number 3

    • Jane, even though I was afraid of childbirth, I didn’t actually end up having to deal with the pain of it. Ended up with the pain of two c-sections instead. Nevertheless, the prospect of the major operation was scary as well! I think it was only the night before the operation that I resigned myself to my “fate” and just went with the flow…almost in a dreamlike out of body experience. Ha ha!

  4. Life scares me all the time. Sometimes when I sit and think of my life I get overwhelmed with fear. Then I remember to focus on the moment, the day, the other stuff and it all feels better, it’s not so big or hard. Your analogies remind me of almost everyday at the moment as my daughter and I summon the courage to jump in the cold water in the seapool near our place. I’m getting better at it though. It’s always exhilarating, and cold as I predict, but i always feel good afterwards. I like that quote by Stephen King, i like the fact he used the word scary – it’s quite funny given what he writes about. He must live with it all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Stephen King must live and thrive on fear! Ha Ha! Yes, I must admit I’m more cautious than reckless, or shall we say I’m more risk-averse. I know it stops me from leaping into certain things but I am also so aware that not doing so sometimes means I’m living a half-fulfilled life. I really need to keep pushing through the fear zone myself. Thanks for reminding me I posted that quote! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m so bummed I didn’t watch it live. I think I’ll still have to check it out on YouTube, though. I have a feeling I’m going to get a lump in my throat too.
    While I had a scheduled c-section it was still terrifying. Even for this adventure loving, adrenalin junkie..

  6. I got scared a little about number one, mostly because it was so unknown…. number two I wasn’t and it was much worse than number 1. I think if I ever go back again it will be the hardest in terms of the fear jump.

    • Expectations play so much into our experiences, don’t they Robyn? I know I felt that way in relation to whether my girls would sleep through the night. After my first didn’t sleep through till 18 months, I just expected the second would go at least that long but wouldn’t have been at all dismayed if she actually did sleep through early. 20 months on….she still doesn’t sleep through! Ha ha!

  7. Me being the adventure hungry, adrenaline junkie would love to do a jump like that. Imagine seeing the world like that in all its wonder and glory!
    Yet at the same time, my c-section (scheduled, mind you!) absolutely terrified me! It doesn’t make sense, does it ? ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m torn between feeling admiration Felix Baumgartner and wondering if this though undoubtedly spectacular was worth all the money and resources pumped into it. Childbirth is a little different. Once Felix jumped he was on his own. During childbirth you usually have a support team.

    • I don’t disagree, Brenda. Whilst he did have his support team kilometres away on solid ground, we are so supported during childbirth. I know I was given I ended up having two c-sections. And, yes, there are so many more worthy things everyone could spend money on. I did see an article after the fact questioning what science really learnt from the “indulgence”. I wish it were so easy in life to be able to redirect resources around the world to solve real life issues. Doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try.

    • I would justify the fear, Sarah, by saying it’s just a blip in time compared to the amazing experience of pregnancy (at least it was for me) and the rest of our lives with our children. That puts it into perspective, yes? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • With my last pregnancy, Rachel, I was told I’d probably need a second c-section. At week 39, I was told I could go natural. You can probably imagine my slight disbelief and growing horror at having to learn how to do mentally and physically prepare for a natural childbirth with a week to spare! My waters broke, I went in ill-prepared but resigned to my fate, but in the end had to have the second c-section!

  9. I was definitely scared of how I’d cope with the pain of labour. I totally get the letting go and stepping into the fear of child birth and life analogy. I haven’t watched the video. I must. xx

    • Fear can stop us from many things and often does where we can control the situation and not go there. Not going there is not an option for something like childbirth. A lesson in there for all, perhaps?

  10. I’m scared of jumps. I was scared of childbirth, too, the first time, and what got me to relax about it was reading lots and lots of birth stories. It helps to know that whatever is about to happen to you, has already happened to someone else. (not sure if that would help with jumps though)

    • Well, Tat, you’ve done the childbirth thing three times now, so I think you’re a bit of a pro! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I’d rather do childbirth then jump from any height. No bungy jumping for me!

  11. What an interesting and highly accurate analogy! For me, jumping out of a plane at 14000 ft was far less fear inducing than childbirth & I’m by no means a dare devil!

  12. As soon as we found out I was pregnant, hubby was stupid-happy and wanted to scream it from the rooftops of our Roman hotel. I thought, “Shit, I have to birth a baby.” Imagine if he got all the way up there and said, “I don’t want to do this anymore” LOL! I’m pretty sure I *did* say that during birth but obviously had no choice!

    • That’s what made me (strangely) draw the connection between childbirth and this stratosphere jump, Aroha. I wondered if he had thought even for the briefest moment, I don’t want to do this anymore. It reminded me of my initial fear of childbirth.

  13. I felt a terrible sense of impending doom before Maksi was born not because of the birth but the life chages we were going to have to make but as soon as I saw him it went away and now I would love to have more x

    • That’s interesting, Julia. I didn’t dwell a lot about the major life changes to come with a baby, though I knew they would come. Maybe it’s because we wanted a baby for so long. I do know friends who did not expect to get pregnant and then at 40 found themselves changing their entire life plans with the unexpected arrival of a little one. That was a challenge.

  14. Yes, childbirth terrifies me. I had the normal ‘unknown’ fear before birth#1 – but that birth left me with trauma, so I did my darndest to prepare for birth#2 (emotionally, physically etc) – and I just couldn’t get past the fear as soon as labour kicked in. It was horrific. Yep – I agree with Steven’s quote for the most part, but as it applies to my experience of childbirth it’s not quite true, because it got scarier and scarier as it went along! Such interesting parallels, V. Thanks for getting us thinking! x

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

