Voice, Darren Percival and Blogging

What do the three have in common?

~~

I was inspired to think about my voice after following blogger Eden Riley’s trip to Africa with World Vision in April. Not my singing voice, mind you, but the voice that might be used to touch people, to make a difference. I know there were others similarly inspired, because I read as much on a few blogs, such as here.

~~

Since I’ve had to pare back my formerly heavy involvement in social media this year, I’ve only fleetingly caught some of the recent blog posts and tweets that have been circulating about “the state of the blogosphere”; the apparent competition, backstabbing, trolling, judgement. It seems to have made some more wary about what they blog, and how intimate they should be. The atmosphere has led some to question their authenticity, their blog’s purpose and direction, their own motives, their voice, and in many cases, that’s just not fair.
~~

The Voice, in essence, is a show about singing yet I feel I’ve learnt a lesson about blogging from watching and listening to contestant, Darren Percival, especially when he sang last week’s moving rendition of “I Believe”.

I don’t know much about Darren, his personal life or his background. I only know as much as the show has revealed – that he’s 40, married with a young family and a vocal looping artist.

Yet through his voice, he touches people, he reaches them, he moves them, leaving behind an indelible mark. His joy and passion for singing is glaringly obvious. It’s written all over his face when he sings, through his smile, when he closes his eyes, as if experiencing a spiritual moment, when he sheds a tear or few. His demonstrated humility makes him seem genuine, authentic, honest, sincere, trustworthy, even though we don’t personally know him. And all this through the power and influence of his voice.

As bloggers, we share our voice and our lives in a way we feel most comfortable with and on the path we believe most appropriate for us. I don’t believe we have to, need to, or should be pressured to reveal everything deeply personal about ourselves. Yet this does not make us inauthentic or mean people can’t or won’t connect with our hearts, our intent, our spirit through our writing and social media interaction. I look at the impact of Darren Percival and I believe that to be true.

And if we are being true to ourselves and our own voice, shouldn’t that be what matters most?

Write from the Heart

Related Posts

Use Your Words

***************

Linking with With Some Grace for FlogYoBlogFriday (FYBF).

21 thoughts on “Voice, Darren Percival and Blogging

  1. I agree – we don’t need to share the most deeply personal moments of our lives to be authentic. We share what we feel we need to share at any given moment – sometimes it is something light hearted, sometimes it is more deep.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Cathy. Your comment is why I do find it hard to schedule posts, myself. I feel I have to write on the spur of the moment based on where my mind and heart is at.

  2. Good questions, Veronica. Every blogger has different goals and purposes for their blog, so it’s up to the individual to decide how much they will reveal or conceal about themselves. There are no rules to blogging. I actually separate authenticity and ‘sharing my life’ when it comes to my blog. They are related but different. In order to find my voice, I’ve had to dig deep and be the authentic me. But that doesn’t mean sharing excruciating details. It just means being honest about who I am and how I’m feeling. I hope this makes my writing voice warm yet powerful. Just as yours is too , Veronica. You are thought provoking as usual. And thank you for the ping back to my blog. x PS I didn’t think about finding my voice in terms of how I touch people or make a difference – for me the search was about fulfilling a lifelong quest to express myself through writing to a quality I am happy with.

    • It’s interesting you say there are “no rules to blogging”, Deb. I remember when I started I thought it was all about writing. Then apparent rules or etiquette started to rear their heads about how to blog. For me, they led me to running on a treadmill of more and more social media that was unsustainable for me. So it has led me back to blogging at my own pace and ditching most of the apparent “rules”. I guess that applies to how much we do or don’t share too. It’s got to suit us whatever that means.

      Your writing is warm and powerful indeed. You do express yourself beautifully in word. I love your gift. It is uplifting and inspiring to me. And even though you didn’t think about finding your voice in terms of touching people, I believe you do and your words have the power to reach into hearts.

  3. Yes that’s true.
    I share quite a bit in my blog, but there is oodles I don’t share that really has no place at all. I’m quite ok with that.
    I’ve missed all the bitchiness too thank goodness. I prefer naïveté when it comes to that kind of drama.

    • You share enough to give a picture of who you are to your readers, Jess, and they keep coming back for more, you alluring woman! 🙂

      Also, it’s good to avoid the negatives where possible. It would be harder if one was the focus of it. Thankfully I’ve not been and hope never to be, fingers crossed. Hope you never are either!

  4. Love this Veronica. I agree that it really depends on the individual. I have no intention of sharing the nitty gritty details of my life but I’m still genuine. I couldn’t agree more about Darren’s joy either.

  5. Very interesting post.. and I do believe it is impt to stay through to your own self, and to your own voice. Some people feel comfortable sharing to different levels, and that is their own prerogatives. It doesn’t mean that somebody who pours out their whole life story is being true. Who knows whether that was made up? And of course, who’s to say somebody who reveals less is not being genuine?

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

    • You raise an interesting point, Ai. How do we know we are reading truth?! I know that some anonymous bloggers have been criticised in the past for not being honest or trustworthy because they don’t put their identify to their words. I’m not sure if that is fair. The etiquette around blogging is confusing at times!

  6. 100% agree. I have always believed that it’s important to stay true to yourself. And that means to hold back on some things. Revealing your entire life and all your emotions doesn’t mean that that’s the only authentic way to be.
    It’s like some advice I was give to the secret to dating…you don’t need to be an open book on your first date. Just show snippets of yourself. If he truly likes you, he’ll stick around to find out more.
    Same with blogging. I stepped away for a little while (as you know) and was frantic that I had lost my momentum. But those who truly cared about me…they’re all still around 🙂

    • I like the dating advice, Grace. Very relevant to many meetings and relationships in life. I guess it’s the allure that keeps one curious and fascinated and coming back for more.

  7. Yes, yes, yes, so agree with your words. I am one of those holding something of myself back, giving my all to the posts I write, but keeping the personal stuff for myself and my loved ones. I admire those raw and brave people who pour themselves out onto the keyboard, but it’s not for me. I pour myself out in other ways, with writing about things I love and am passionate about. LOVE Mr Percival 🙂

    • I admire those bloggers who are very open online too, Kylie. I couldn’t do it myself, but having said that even sharing any thoughts or feelings or opinions can be revealing. Even when I share my photos, I feel I am sharing a part of myself, the effort that took to create and craft the image, though no words are involved. And anything we share, no matter how small, could still be open to criticism and that can still hurt – hearts on the line indeed.

  8. I must have totally missed out on all the bitchiness, backstabbing and trolling, and I can’t say I’m unhappy about it. I don’t know if I’ve been subconsciously avoiding it or just lucky.

    I agree wit Grace that that authenticity has nothing to do with sharing every little detail. As long as your stories reveal your true thoughts, values and feelings, who cares about the details and who cares even if the details are true?

    • It’s no loss missing out on the negativity, Tat. It’s a pity it’s out there but I suppose we’d be naive to assume everyone would get along or have the same views or even be kind and considerate enough just to agree to disagree.

      I really enjoy what I see of your thoughts, heart and feelings in your posts. There are many interesting and uplifting posts and blogs you come across and you are very generous to share these. I just wish I had more time to dig into them all in more detail!

  9. Pingback: Beyonce, the Voice and the written word « Catch Up With A Mate

  10. I’m not so sure that just because there’s media hype about the catty nature of the blogosphere (isn’t that a favourite theme for society to bring up where ever women are getting together?) that it’s really true. My blog is relatively small, but I have a loyal readership and new people popping by each day, and I’ve only had really supportive feedback. And I only give supportive feedback. Blogopolis was all kinds of supportive. Maybe I’m not courting controversy on my blog but I’m being myself… and I feel really appreciated for it. I don’t think as bloggers we should be letting others put labels on us, especially when they’re aimed at being dismissive.

    Catherine @ The Spring (in Sydney)
    http://www.thespringblog.com/

    • I’m like you, Catherine. I’ve only personally experienced support from my little community. Whilst the media definitely plays up any controversies about anything, I have, unfortunately, seen some of the cattiness against others and it can be quite brutal. I do think some blog styles and possibly some post topics are more likely to court controversy than others though. I will never understand the point but I guess there are always some people who just like to pick fights. By the way, you’ve a lovely blog. Home and design blogs were the first blogs I read when I first found the blogosphere. I just wish I had time to read more of all the blogs I love!

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

