Unwritten

i heart free blank page was all the rage by ilhu industries

{image credit via}

I love the Sound Hound app on my iPhone. Whenever I hear an old song but can’t recall the name or artist (or both), I whip out my iPhone, crank open the app and away it goes. After “listening” to the song snippet on the radio, over an in-store sound system or from my own singing (yup, even that works), it spits out the song details I want from its library of music.

The other day, I came across a song that struck a chord with me. I think it was the tune, the crescendos and the lyrics. It made me think of blogging in general and the lack of blogging I’ve been doing lately. Sound Hound did its trick and informed me I was listening to “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield.

As I listened to the lyrics, it made me think of blog posts I’d read, many of them, with bloggers declaring they would be going back to basics, back to the essence of their story, back to why they began blogging, back to blogging their own race. It also reminded me of posts, including my own, where bloggers lament losing their mojo or share how hard it is to find the “right” words to write.

Funnily enough, “Unwritten”, uplifted me and inspired me to go back and write. It inspired me not to try so hard. To just write. To tell whatever story it is I feel the need to tell, at the time. I don’t need to have all the answers. I don’t need to know it all. It doesn’t have to be perfect.

Living this moment of inspiration, I was also reminded of a quote I recently read on Fat Mum Slim’s blog from Jim Jarmusch and it stuck with me:

“Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination.
Devour old films, new films, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams,
random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees,
clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows.
Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul.
If you do this, your work {and theft} will be authentic.
Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent.
And don’t bother concealing your thievery – celebrate it if you feel like it.
In any case, always remember what Jean-Luc Godard said:
“It’s not where you take things from – it’s where you take them to.”

Inspiration comes from the most interesting and unexpected of places. I’m happy to lap it up, whenever it comes.

“I am unwritten,
Can’t read my mind
I’m undefined
I’m just beginning
The pen’s in my hand
Ending unplanned

“Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words
That you could not find

“Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions

“Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten, yeah…”

{Excerpt from “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield via Metrolyrics}


.

Related Posts

Ramblings of a Mojo-less Blogger

26 thoughts on “Unwritten

  1. I heard this song on the radio the other day – and for the first time I actually listened to the words (probably had something to do with the fact that there were no kids in the car!) It’s such a great song for reminding us that we all have our own story to tell.

    • I wonder if you heard it the same time I did, Deb. It was playing on a Christian radio station I listen to sometimes. I don’t think I’d really listened to the lyrics before then either.

  2. I so hear you Veronica. I don’t know why I have slowed down..perhaps it was impossible to keep up the original pace I set, or perhaps it’s performance anxiety. Now I read so many blogs and I am in awe of how amazing they are and I think why bother… Well I too am going back to writing like no-one is reading.
    I love your ramblings. xx

    • Don’t compare, Lee. I love how you write. There will always someone who seems better or worse, if I dare say. Comparing forces us to rank that way. We all write differently too. I can’t do what Styling You does or Woogsworld or Crash Test Mummy. It’s not me. Just be you. Look forward to reading more of your writing like no one is reading.

  3. I love that song too, even if it will now forever remind me of the MTV show “The Hills”.

    I tend to blog by my own rules, which goes against all the expert advice, (particularly for a business blog)….I rarely blog more than once a week and if I don’t have something important to say, I don’t blog at all (although I still write). This week I even dropped my coaching cap altogether and just shared an experience that came to me in a bit of freestyle writing…..

    I do like your posts though Veronica. You always make me think and I’m also loving your photographic eye 🙂

    • I’ve never watched The Hills, but if I had, I would’ve remembered it.

      I think everyone should blog their way but I know it’s hard. There’s social peer pressure out there if though it’s unspoken and unconscious. I like the idea of “organic blogging” which is what Gemma of My Big Nutshell wrote about a little while back.

      Thanks for your kind words about my blogging and photography. It’s a bit of a journey. Thanks for sharing it with me.

  4. You know, the beauty about restarting my blog was the chance to go back to square one. To go back and write about what really matters to me – even if that meant that I was writing half as often as I did before. What surprised me is that, when I wrote less, the quality of what I did post, was much better (Well, I thought so, anyway :)).

    The other thing I discovered was that the relationships that I had established and those who were genuinely interested in me, came back to my new blog. And I know they don’t care about the imperfections or that I was away for so so long.

    There are no expectations for you to be outwardly unique or extraordinarily interesting. To me, you’re already all those things. That’s why I’ll always come back to hear what you have to say.

    • I liked what you did before but I totally see what you mean about the fresh perspective. I do think your posts are better quality too. And I take your point about the relationships that count too. It will be interesting to see how that goes for me as I start taking things at a different pace. Thanks so much for your really kind words. I don’t think I’m boring but I never thought of myself as being particularly fascinating!

  5. I must admit I was a bit of a Hill’s fan too! It was my escape to that other world where I was forever a twenty something who hung out in cafes all day, never in the same outfit twice, an endless stream of money that came from I dont know where and a job I only had to tun up to because it was fun. Anyway I digress….Great words Veronica and I also love the idea of finding motivation from all kinds of sources.

    • Never watched The Hills but I’m sure the song would have stuck with me if I had. Other theme songs have, like the one for Dawson’s Creek and Friends. I have those escape shows too. For a long time, mine was Felicity but I go back to even more remote settings now like Anne of Green Gables and Jane Austen remakes! But I digress too!

      That quote about the originality and authenticity of creativity is a great one. For the longest time, I always thought I had to find or create something totally unique so I could branch into what I really want to do/be/love/am passionate about. Maybe I just need to look at it differently and realise inspiration can come and morph from something right in front of me.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Martine.

  6. Great thoughts Veronica. I have had the ‘loss of mojo’ thing too, and sometimes it is because I am trying to write for other people instead of what I enjoy….

    Glad you found your inspiration again! I enjoy reading your posts (not that you are writing them for me!!)

    • I think it make so much sense, Julie. Pressure to perform can interrupt flow. Flow isn’t always something you can conjure at will. It seems a bit more whimsical than that sometimes. Following our heart should help over trying to follow some rules being dictated from our heads. At least I hope it will. And thanks for letting me know you appreciate my blog.

    • Music can be so powerful, Jocelyn. I have a ton of songs like that but I do love hearing which songs inspire others too. Music and the right lyrics can create something magical.

  7. First of all, that app sounds really cool (what will they think of next?). Secondly, glad the song inspired you – I’ve heard it and it’s a great song. Blogging shouldn’t be stressful, though I know for myself I do put pressure on sometimes to just get something done and out there. I hear you…

    • Do download the app, Maria. I’ve loved using it to remind myself about old songs. It spits out lyrics too and links you straight to the iTunes store to purchase, if you wish to.

      Your blog is a mixture of personal and promotion so it is a different beast, if I may call a blog that! I can see the pressure to get things done if you have a deadline for releasing something you are reviewing. I don’t work with brands and not sure I will. I can’t see how it would fit for me. Who knows what the future might hold though?!

  8. Unwritten is such an inspiring song!
    I can totally relate to what you are saying! Some weeks I really struggle with content, other weeks I’ve got it pouring out of me.
    But the one essential thing I always try to remember is that it’s my story, my way.
    I’m glad you found inspiration, Veronica 🙂

    • Thanks, Daisy. You write with such apparent ease that it’s hard to imagine you struggling but we are all just fallible human beings and have our off days so I can am sure you must. You have a certain “Daisy” style though that is just you blogging your way. I don’t have the words to describe it but hopefully you know what I mean.

  9. Pingback: Dream a little dream with me… | Daisy Roo and Two

  10. Pingback: State of play « Mixed Gems

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

