Simplify your life {SYL: Week 1} – Positives in 2011

I’ve joined the 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life Challenge in 2012 hosted by Deb at Home Life Simplified. Why? Purely and simply because:

Change

{image credit via}

***************

The Task: Week #1 Challenge: Create a list of everything that went “right” in 2011

It’s been hard to complete this post. Little went very wrong in 2011 but I am struggling to identify the glaringly positive. Maybe it’s because I feel I should be focusing on something amazing instead of the little moments that make up the big picture.

I’ve also struggled to get back into blogging partly because I’ve prioritised other long neglected things first since the new year, and partly because the inspiration has stalled. But that’s not what this post is meant to be about.

In any case, I am cobbling this together at the 11th hour pushing myself to make the deadline for week 1’s linky with about 30 minutes to spare. I then have to get cracking on week 2. I’m already a full week behind.

Just yesterday, I wrote about being grateful for fresh starts. It’s okay to fall off the bandwagon. I just have to make sure I jump on again. It may not be my best piece of writing but I need to start somewhere.

“Dead last finish is greater than did not finish, which trumps did not start.” – Anonymous

Even though I like the sentiment in this quote, I remind myself that I am not writing in competition with others. I don’t have to be better than anyone else. I just have to be me. I just have to be true to myself. And I just have to start! So here goes…..

Significant Moments from 2011

  • I had a beautiful, healthy baby girl in March. She was our second miracle baby. Our first baby was conceived by IVF when I was 40. Our new little girl was conceived naturally at 42. Being a mother the second time round has been easier in some ways because I knew what to expect and had more tricks up my sleeve. She has completed our family. I am truly grateful for my own family and feel fulfilled becoming a mother. This is a part of my life as a woman that I knew I didn’t want to miss out on.
  • Watching my big girl grow up, express herself with her unique taste and quirks, and navigate her world brings me great joy. Hearing her say she loves me, that she wants cuddles and to be with me means so much. Before we even knew if we could have children, I used to imagine a little child following close beside me, saying “mummy”, and reaching out to hold my hand. That is now my reality.
  • After lurking around blogs for about a year, I took a risk, dived in and started a public blog in March. It’s met my two main goals in 2011; (1) to become part of a like-minded community of people I can engage with and (2) an outlet for creative expression, both written and pictorial. I’ve found some lovely women who, I guess you could say, are now a regular part of my online social circle. It’s had some challenges, but on the whole, blogging has energised me and filled up my tank. I also enjoy the tinkering and technical aspects which appeals to my desire to create.
  • Through blogging, I discovered Pinterest, Instagram and photo challenges. As a result I’ve realised just how much images inspire and energise me. They open up a part of me that feels things are possible. It’s allowed me to find an avenue for creative expression, something I’ve always longed to release. Reviewing and taking photos through these social media avenues has finally pushed me to pursue my interest in photography and start learning the technical side of things.
  • Discovering and indulging in my now favourite T2 teas as a daily routine, often with candles, sometimes with music, has given me a little space to call my own in the hectic daily world of motherhood and homemaking. This little space usually makes me happy and energises me.
  • I’ve learnt a few positive things about myself in 2011. I’ve learnt that I need to let go of perfection; that my best within my constraints is good enough. I’ve learnt I need less of a scattergun approach to things and that I need to take time out to recoup and re-focus. I’m still working on being consistent with these lessons but I see it as a work in progress and that’s okay.

Related Posts

Getting into Gear

Grateful for…..fresh starts

***************

Linking with Deb of Home Life Simplified for the 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life Challenge.

10 thoughts on “Simplify your life {SYL: Week 1} – Positives in 2011

  1. Your list is full of amazing things and not one of them is a little thing.

    Definitely pursue your interest in photography, I’ve found myself thinking a few times this week that I wish I could see things the way you do (I mean things I wanted to photograph). You have a gift and I’ve seen your photos get better and better.

    • Thanks, Tat. It’s so easy to trivialise things in life at times but each thing builds on each other and probably isn’t little after all. Thanks for your encouragement in my photography. I’ve not made more effort in the past few years to learn other than go with my gut so I really should make the effort this year.

  2. Pingback: Value Discovery with Dolly Parton « Mixed Gems

  3. What a big year for you! Conceiving a baby naturally (although that’d be 2010 hey) is a miracle any time let alone after needing ivf and at a more mature stage of life. And I know first hand how beautiful it is to see a little lady growing up trying to be so much like mummy. It’s very flattering at times and very confronting sometimes too! Congrats on a great year.

  4. That’s a fabulous post 🙂 I was going to do the 52 week challenge, but knew my brain wouldn’t want to play along with me. So I am enjoying reading everyone else’s posts 🙂

    • You know, Deb who’s hosting this, said you can play along at home at your own pace as and when it fits in with everything else. It is a big commitment and I hope I can stick with it. I just knew I needed something to keep me on the straight and narrow in 2012. I want growth. Fingers crossed!

  5. Pingback: Simplify your life {SYL: Week 2} – Values « Mixed Gems

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

