iPhone 4S Dictation Humour

CloseToSense by W.A.S. Cheer.Team [MX]

{image credit}

Hubby brought home brand new iPhone 4S models for us the other day. It comes with some cool features including one I thought might help me with typing and blogging when I have no free hand to type – the voice dictation feature.

However, after testing it out, I’m not sure sure it’s going to be of much help.

Wanna know why? Then read on to find out what I said, and what “dicta” heard……

.

ME: I am just testing this feature to see how well it can understand my voice.

DICTA: I am just testing this feature to see how well it can understand my voice.

.

ME: So far it has done a very good job.

DICTA: Send five has done a very good job.

.

ME: So far it has done a very good job.

DICTA: Call Yeok it has done a very good job.

.

ME: So far it has done a very good job.

DICTA: It has done a very good job.

.

ME: So far it has done a very good job.

DICTA: Dial five each has done a very great job.

.

ME: So far it has done a very good job.

DICTA: Call mom eat how it’s done and very good job.

.

ME: So far. So far.

DICTA: Call mom. Call mom.

.

ME: I said so far.

DICTA: I said so five.

.

ME: I did not say send five, call Yeok, dial five or call mom, I said so far.

DICTA: I did not say send five, old old York, old dial five, on call mom, I said so far.

.

ME: Using this feature could make a very interesting or silly blog post.

DICTA: Using this feature could make a very interesting or Feely blog post.

.

ME: I said silly blog post not feely blog post.

DICTA: I said Siri blog post not feeling blog post.

.

ME: I said silly blog post not feely blog post.

DICTA: Hi Sid Lee blog post no Siri that feeling.

.

ME: I did not say Sid Lee, or Siri, or feeling, or Feely, I said silly blog post.

DICTA: I did not say Cedley, or Siri, on that feeling, all Feely I said or blog post.

.

ME: Silly silly silly.

DICTA: Hey hey hey.

.

ME: I did not say hey hey hey, I said silly silly silly.

DICTA: I did not say hey hey hey, I said or or or me.

.

ME: Do you not understand the word silIy? I did not say hey hey hey, and I did not say or or or, I said silly.

DICTA: Do you not understand the word did not say hey hey hey, and I did not say that at L, I said early.

.

ME: Okay, if you do not understand the word silly, I will now give up.

DICTA: Call now if you that you do not understand the word I will now give up.

.

Suffice to say, I’m sticking with the “mother of a young baby, tried and true method” – one handed typing.

Have you had similar fun with the new iPhone 4S? Any other funny stories to share this week about technology fails or anything else? I’m in need of a good laugh.

***************

I’m linking with Jess from Diary of a SAHM for IBOT.

I Blog on Tuesdays

49 thoughts on “iPhone 4S Dictation Humour

  1. Hahahahahahahaha! No funny stories this week but autocorrect has created quite a few problems in the past!

  2. Oh that had me giggling all the way through! What an absolute crack up!

    How funny was it that it finally got ‘so far’ after all that time? I wonder how long it would take to say silly.

    And what on earth is old yeok?

    • I know, Jess. It cracked me up, my mum and hubby up. It got me especially when it told me to “Call mum”. Maybe I have a weird accent or something. I don’t know. I’ve no idea what an old yeok is either. Ha Ha!

  3. I like you was SOOOO excited about the auto dictation software…. I used it for the first time whilst driving home from town. I talked for about 10 mins before I hit a red light & could look down at what had been recorded….I was very upset to see utter gibberish! I had wasted that 10 mins…….
    I tried again. Talked slower, with more enphasis on pronounciation….. again 10 mins later gibberish.
    Now I’m trying to type the same post up – and of course I can’t quite get it anywhere near as good as it was that first day in my head!
    Damn you auto correct πŸ™‚

    • Oh no, Sara, I feel your pain! I hate deleted posts and I would just as much hate gibberish posts. It’s quite painful to try and recreate the initial buzz of the idea. Some say it can get better, but that’s not been my experience. I guess we’ll both be leaving the dictation software aside for now. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh dear, that’s hilarious. I might have to get mine out one day & see what it comes up with! Maybe just maybe it might interpret the twins gibberish for me?! Imagine if it could, it would be so funny!

    • You should, Michelle! It’d be worth it just for a laugh. Something your twins might enjoy, if you don’t already have it, is the Talking Tom Cat app from iTunes. My toddler loved it. It was one of the first apps she played with when she was quite young and still talking gibberish. I am convinced she practiced having conversations with the app even though it was just repeating her every word. I’m not sure if it’s related, but she seems to have a pretty advanced vocabulary now.

  5. Love it! I still have a crappy old iphone 3gs with a cracked screen and no fun special features. One day the iphone 4s will be mine. Oh yes, she will be mine. Enjoy your one handed typing πŸ™‚

  6. Ha ha. I’m sure this would happen to me too – I struggle with getting the “yes” or “no” interpreted on phone banking sometimes! Thanks for the laugh.

    • I’ve not actually attempted to use SIRI yet though I have observed hubby’s attempts and he’s had some doozy outcomes too. Maybe SIRI likes your voice and accent. I thought mine was pretty clear but maybe it’s not after all. Glad you got a kick out of the post, Laney. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh man, Veronica, we’ve had so much fun with Siri. Hubby and I were sending silly messages to one another the other night. Somehow, it always ends with us calling Siri names.

    The new Aussie accent Siri can’t understand mine and hubby’s English accents at all (even though I barely have one).

    • I wonder how SIRI is programmed for accents. I suppose you could say there is a fairly generic Aussie one. But you couldn’t say that for British or American. In any case, this technology is both helpful and amusing. Wait till it starts telling us what do to before we ask!

  8. I have two daughters, Rachel and Erin. Rachel sometimes sends me an sms like “I’m going to get wring”. It took me a while to realise she was actually “going to get Erin” – her iPhone “auto-corrected” her…

  9. That is too funny! My husband and I have lots of laughs over his voice to text messages on the phone. He once rang me back and asked why I wanted to put the donkey in the garage, when in fact I wanted him to check his diary for the weekend!

  10. Too funny! My husband and I have had lots of laughs over some of my voice to text messages to him. He once rang me back and asked why I needed him to put the donkey in the garage! All I wanted was him to check his diary fo the weekend!

    • Thanks, Charis. It can be a source of humour or frustration. I’m glad I was just testing it out so it was more amusing that not. We all need some good laughs now and then!

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

