Bloodlines

Once Upon A Time

{image credit}

Everyone has a story to tell.

Our lives are made up of todays, tomorrows, and also yesterdays. Some people are busy looking to the tomorrows. Some struggle through the todays. Others cannot shake the yesterdays.

Some stories are inspiring, encouraging, hopeful, exciting. Some are mundane, boring, ho-hum. Others are painful, sad, tragic. Most are a mixture of the lot; a melting pot.

Some people choose to never look back. I’m the sort of person who has wallowed in my actual and perceived failings on many occasions. I muddle through disorganised todays and look with hope towards a hazy picture of my future; a whole chain of tomorrows that I can’t fully make out yet.

Despite how we feel about the story of our current lives, we cannot shake the fact that there is a history that goes with our lives, one that even though it was not lived by us, it is still tied to our existence. It is in our bloodlines. It is the story of our ancestors.

I started the journey to find out more about mine just over 5 years ago, soon after I got married and we began thinking about starting a family. This is the first of five posts I’ll share about this journey. Come back next Tuesday to find out a little more.

Have you been inspired to find out about your family tree? Does your personal history matter to you? Has it made a difference since you’ve had children?

Related Posts

Uncovering the Past

Wordless Wednesday – Heritage Road Trip Part 1

Walking in their Footsteps

***************

I’m linking with Jess from Diary of a SAHM for IBOT.

I Blog on Tuesdays

33 thoughts on “Bloodlines

  1. How interesting to explore your history, look forward to reading more about your bloodline and also seeing photos; old photos of people can be absolutely fascinating. In Scotland Mum has some of her family in Victorian times, such stiff poses and resolute faces back then.

    • Thanks, Seana. It was really interesting once I started. Never realised how much so. It is fascinating looking at old photos too. I don’t have nearly as many as I’d like and some copies of copies, but yes, I do have some to come. Hope to see you pop back for more.

  2. You can learn so much from researching your family history. We did this on my dad’s side and can actually trace back quite far like over 1,000 years (records were kept, but only on the male side as that was the Chinese way). Looking forward to reading about your own journey!

    • Wow! That’s an amazing record of your family history, Maria. Sadly, I don’t have that much on my father’s side. Most comes from my mother. I would love to know more of my father’s side and my hubby’s too. He has a bit more info but my dad doesn’t.

  3. What a wonderful post Veronica, can’t wait to read more next week. I have a cousin who has looked extensively into her family history. It is on my list of things to do but with life what it is I wonder if I will ever actually do any of it!

    • Thanks, Rhi. It takes quite a lot of time to do the research justice and even i have a lot more to do. I started in 2006, went crazy on it for a few months, stopped, started and have only put a toe in here or there since. I’m not sure I would have done much if I started after my girls were born. But you can always start and just do a tiny bit here, and a tiny bit there. You may be surprised at who else has done research that links into your family lineage.

  4. My grandparents did a huge family tree and history search when I was little, but I’ve never asked to read it. This makes me want to! Looking forward to reading more about your family history, Veronica!

    • Oh, Daisy, you should, especially if they’ve already done the work. It can be quite fascinating. Like were you descended from the first fleet, or is it Ireland with the red hair, or somewhere way out of left field? I think it’ll be an interesting legacy for the kids.

  5. Oh I can’t wait to hear the rest of this!

    My dad has done a lot of family tree work as well, but I haven’t taken a huge interest in it, which I think disappoints him. My sisters are all a lot older than me and I don’t actually have much to do with one of them. I guess this effects my thinking of family a lot. Just cause you’re related, doesn’t mean to me what it does to others.
    I should take more of an interest though; even just for dads sake.

    • Thanks, Jess. I guess that’s why I started my post about our family story and whether we want to know or not. Most of us think in terms of the current or recent and I think we all have difficult things in our lives that we don’t always want to know about. Families are just complicated that way. From what I’ve dug up, they always are, even going way back. Probably means they always will be. But maybe looking further back might just take you a step away so you can detach yourself from the now. It could be interesting, even for your kids to know.

    • Oh, wow! “Finished”? How far back did she get to go. You could go on almost forever. I recall one from Who do you think you are UK that tracked back to Adam and Eve! Ha Ha. I’m not joking either!

  6. Yes, family history is fascinating to me. Even before kids. Knowing the past is about finding identity about who we are now. For me, it’s part of my strong urge to feel like I belong somewhere. Looking forward to reading more of your posts in this series.

    • Thanks, Deb. The past does impact who were are in many ways. I can see trends and threads woven through what I’ve discovered. I’ve been able to call places as part of my heritage as a result. But I’ve also decided where I want to be sure to buck the “trend” and not continue certain generational “flaws” or “failings”. It is very interesting.

  7. Sounds interesting. My mum is really into researching family history too – she has even published 3 books! Sadly for her, I have shown no such interest, despite my interest in broader history. I don’t know why I am so stubborn about it, but my eyes glaze over when she starts talking about it. Probably more to do with a childhood of enforced visits to cemeteries, archives and libraries than anything else!

    • Julie, if I’d had it force-fed from young, maybe I’d be a bit disinterested too. It was really largely a mystery to me until recently and loving a good mystery, I chose to become the detective. More interesting when you are personally motivated. But at least it’s great you have the information on hand. You, or maybe your kids, might one day really want to know. It’ll be as easy as puling those books off the shelves!

  8. Hello Veronica

    that is wonderfuly worded – so beautiful in your introduction I am hanging on to find out more – and I will return and tune in to find out what happens.

    I am interested in a way for my history – perhaps more out of curiosity – I do know quite a lot already of our family history as it has and is still being traced by a few relatives.

    I think we all create our history too – our decisions every single minute are the cause of our actions – our actions become our history be it yesterday, last week or last month for example. And if we are smart we learn from our decisions and actions if they were wrong or not the best choices and try to not repeat them.
    Better our next choices and move on to more positive happier living to have happy histories.

    lovely post 🙂

    x
    Loulou

    • Thanks so much, Loulou. I hope I can keep it interesting then! 😉 It’s true, we are creating our history every day. It isn’t just “ancient”. If we thought about that more, we would all probably live a bit more mindfully. Learning about my family history, or the bits I’ve been able to discover, has made me look at the present and think about the future of my children too. I came across the concepts of “generational curses” or “sins of the father” through university and I can see some relevance in the idea. I know I want my daughters, already, not to repeat some of my mistakes or short-comings. Actually, come to think of it, when I was growing up, I could see my father wanting his eldest son, my brother, to avoid the same.

  9. Can’t wait to read more! I find it very interesting how personality traits and ways of being pass down through our ancestors. There is an interaction between the history and the events and the personalities that guide those events. And because those personality traits are carried into the next generation often history repeats itself. I have no idea if that makes sense to you, but I am looking forward to your next instalment!

    And beautifully written too. x

    • Thanks, Lee. Yes, I noticed connections and trends, not just medical too. What you’ve described makes me think of role-modelling. Personality is hard to role-model but it can influence in certain ways. I can see it in my family. Culture also plays a part and when cultures mix, that can produce some interesting outcomes. Sometimes we have to work hard to break free from history repeating itself. I know I think that for my girls.

    • This is a wonderfully tangible legacy to have. In my searches, a distant relative also printed a book about my grandfather’s side of the family which I now have but there is so much more unknown about my line of the family, especially about my nanna’s side that I want to find out.

  10. Pingback: Uncovering The Past « Mixed Gems

  11. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – Heritage Road Trip Part 1 « Mixed Gems

  12. Pingback: Walking in their Footsteps « Mixed Gems

  13. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday – Heritage Road Trip Part 2 « Mixed Gems

  14. Pingback: Family: Life and Legacy « Mixed Gems

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

