Wordless Wednesday – Hope in New York After 9/11

New York continues to have a special place in my heart. I visited twice before 9/11 and I’ve been back twice since; in 2003 and 2006. Here are some hopeful images I’ve taken remembering 9/11.

This is part 2 of my tribute on the 10th anniversary of 9/11. You may like to read part 1 entitled Ten years on – Remembering 9/11.

Please click on the images to see larger versions and to read some of the fine print.

Billboard of Hope, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2003

Billboard of Hope, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2003

Prayer Ribbons at Marble Collegiate Church, New York City, USA, 2006

Prayer Ribbons at Marble Collegiate Church, New York City, USA, 2006

Future World Trade Center, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

Future World Trade Center, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

The Sphere, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

The Sphere, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

Risen from the ruins, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

Risen from the ruins, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

The Road to Heaven Poem, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

The Road to Heaven Poem, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

Hope Garden, Battery Park, New York City, USA. 2006

Hope Garden, Battery Park, New York City, USA. 2006

Hope Garden Tributes, Battery Park, New York City, USA. 2006

Hope Garden Tributes, Battery Park, New York City, USA. 2006

Thank you from Officers, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

Thank you from Officers, Ground Zero, New York City, USA, 2006

***************

Joining in Wordless Wednesday with My Little Drummer Boys and Faith Hope & a whole lotta Love.
Wordless Wednesday

35 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – Hope in New York After 9/11

  1. Pingback: Ten years on – Remembering 9/11 « Mixed Gems

    • Hi Kirsty. It was weird. I was almost back there a month after the attack in October 2011, as mentioned in my related part 1 post, but chose to re-route. It was a very sombre experience in 2003. I went alone and spent a very long time reading the posts, poems, stories and looking at pictures placed all over the black wooden wall erected around ground zero. I also spent a long time in the nearby old Trinity Church which was full of pictures, momentos and other pieces from 9/11. This church was very close to the footprint and was probably covered in dust and debris after the buildings fell. In 2006, I went with hubby and I suppose the passing of 5 years meant the sting was a little less and they were ready to be fully rebuilding.

    • Hi Kel. It was very moving – sad, sombre in 2003 but hopeful by 2006. I was actually a bit nervous to go down there in 2003. It was two years after the event but many sad reminders were still visible in poems, like the one by the NYPD officer, and pictures of lost loved ones. I spent hours looking at those plus the nearby old Trinity Church (dating back to the 1700s) which had become a sort of official shrine to 9/11. This church is literally around the corner from Ground Zero and was probably covered in dust and debris after the Twin Towers fell.

  2. Beautiful photos Veronica. I have only been to NY once (in 2005) and I would go back there in a heart beat if I could. Absolutely love it. The fountain memorial looks stunning from what I’ve seen on the TV.

    Thanks for the self portrait tip.

    • Hi Lee. I hope to get back again one day, maybe once the rebuilding is done. I’d love to get a photo of the new skyline from the Staten Island ferry to add to my collection. I’d love to see if the hope that seemed to be returning will be in full bloom.

    • Hi Sif. They move me too, bringing back a lot of the sombre feelings I had on my first return visit. I hope to get back one day too see the place reborn. Kind of like going full-circle.

    • Thanks Trish. I hope your mum has a ball. It’s a very exciting city. Not sure what she’s going to get up to, but if she wants to explore the place a bit more than scratching the surface, I strongly recommend joining some of the Big Onion Walking Tours (http://bigonion.com). They were excellent and I learnt so much about the place beyond what I could have learnt on my own. And for some bargain shopping, she can’t go past Syms, Loehmann’s, Filene’s Basement, Century 21, and if someone can drive her, the huge outlet at Woodbury Commons.

    • Thanks, Jane. I feel quite lucky to have been able to travel and live overseas both, as a child with my family, and as an adult on my own adventures. I can’t imagine my life without those experiences. All of them have made their mark in some way. New York just happens to have made a deeper impression on me than some other places. I hope you get to travel overseas someday, even if it’s a short step to a nearby destination like Singapore or Fiji. I’ve been told Fiji resorts have great support/creche facilities for kids 🙂

    • Thanks, Julie. I am sure it would be very different. It’s like when I return to Singapore to visit after a few years. I lived there as a young child and have returned many times on holiday since. It changes all the time.

    • Thanks, Maria. I still love the huge billboard but I can see that for the sake of progress and healing other symbols of hope had come into play by 2006. Hope to get back and take more photos once it’s all done.

    • Thanks, Tat. It’s funny – when I was scanning my photos, I couldn’t find any of the Twin Towers other the one I took from the Staten Island Ferry shown in the part 1 post. I do have photos from the Top of the World Observation Deck looking down onto Manhattan Island and the Bay from 100+ storeys up. It was before digital and maybe I took photos differently. I probably just couldn’t think of how to fit them into a frame at the time.

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

