Grateful for My Husband, My Hero

Hubby & IThe following is a short story about the type of simple things my husband does for me. He’s not overly romantic in the traditional sense of flowers, chocolates, jewellery, dinner dates, poetry, etc. Because of that, I don’t always register the significance of the little things he does. However, this little, but extraordinary thing he did for me a couple of weeks ago made me realise how grateful I am to have a man who loves me the way he does, and who is willing to do such unconventional things for me.

Happy Father’s Day for Sunday, my darling, and happy birthday for Monday! xoxo

********************

Today I got caught in a mini-tornado outside my office building. In a flash, my lovely orange multicolored scarf was gone, unravelled from my neck and whisked away.

I spun round like a dog chasing it’s tail thinking it was hanging off the back of my neck. No such luck.

I scoured the ground like a bloodhound on a mission. Nada.

I looked upwards thinking it might be hanging from a light fitting or something. Nada.

About that moment, two people passed by. As I was spinning about in a state, I asked whether they’d seen an orange scarf. I guess I must have looked and sounded like a crazy woman because one of them looked at me, looked about and then asked, “What?”

I stood there for a few moments wondering what to do. I really liked that scarf but it was nowhere to be found. What else could I do?

Curiosity, however, got the better of me. What if it had been blown up and over the landing on the next level? Maybe it was upstairs. I just had to look.

I set off on my mission only to be disappointed. There was no scarf in sight on the upper level courtyard. I walked to the edge of the landing and looked over to see where I’d been standing below. Maybe this new perspective would reveal the whereabouts of my scarf? Nada.

Surveying the lower landing

I had nowhere else to look.

The scarf was gone, probably carried off far away to who knows where.

It was over. I turned to leave the and I could not believe what I saw!

My dangling scarf!

It was my scarf!

The obvious problem was its location, one storey up the side of the building precariously dangling
from the wall. It was affixed there, swaying gently in the breeze, hanging by two loose threads.

If only…….If only…….If only what? There was no way I could reach it. Surely I should cut my losses. It was just a scarf. It wasn’t expensive.

I was so close and yet so far!

But there it was! I’d found it!

It was taunting me and challenging me. I couldn’t just walk away, could I?

I was actually due to meet hubby at his office around the corner so I sent him a text message with the above image and told him I was trying to get a building attendant to help retrieve my scarf.

After a couple of fruitless investigations, however, it became clear there wasn’t going to be anyone to help.

I sent hubby another text and told him I’d have to cut my losses and leave the scarf behind.

He then called me to check where I was and said he’d come round. I wasn’t sure there was anything he could do, but I waited.

Within minutes he came power-walking towards me, a ladder under one arm and a mop in the other hand. WOW!

My Hubby, My Hero

He set his tools up, like a man on a mission. Precariously, he steadied himself on the top step of the ladder. He needed all the height he could get. I must have said, “Please be careful”, umpteen times. I was so nervous he’d fall………and for a scarf, of all things.

It took all of two minutes. He retrieved my scarf, packed his tools away and said he had to rush back to his office.

I had my scarf back! And I had a newfound appreciation for the amazing man my hubby is.

My husband, my hero!

Me and my orange scarf

Is your husband traditionally romantic? Or does he show his love in unconventional ways? I’d love to know the last time he did something special for you.

Today I’m linking with Emily at The Beetle Shack who is hosting I’m Grateful on behalf of Maxabella Loves this week.

20 thoughts on “Grateful for My Husband, My Hero

    • Hi Megan. It is a bit of a hard one to forget! Though I do like my flowers. And I must add in that regard that whilst he doesn’t buy my favourites often he does so sacrificially because he hates the “stinky flowers” ie: Oriental lilies. Thanks for dropping by.

    • Hi Kel. Yeah….he’s pretty good. He’s ‘rescued’ me on numerous occasions with very practical solutions and with my computer issues. In fact, we first met over a printer problem I had – he was the fixit guy!

  1. Aww what a lovely post, i love the photo of the two of you. My husband is similar, not really the flowers and chocolates type. Thank you for reminding me i should appreciate him more! x

    • Hi Jody. It’s hard sometimes to see the romance when it’s not wrapped up in the stereotypical package. doesn’t mean it’s not there. I have to keep reminding myself too. Glad to have been of help! 😉

  2. You have got a wonderful husband there who absolutely adores you. I have watched the pair of you over the last 15 or so years and have on numerous occasions witnessed acts just like this one. Mostly, they would be things that you are use to such as he reminds you to put a jacket on if its cold outside, or he simply brings it out to you without being asked because he’s concerned you may be cold. There are probably so many examples I could give but feel it’s not necessary as your simple story about your scarf totally reflects the type of husband he is – devoted and utterly besotted by his wonderful wife.
    It almost seems unfair that he is just as good as a father as he is as a husband. He dotes on those girls and to watch his face and listen to him when he is interacting with them is simply beautiful to watch. You have done well in choosing a husband and father for your children. But then again, with all this said, he is the lucky one. xox

  3. That’s so sweet Veronica. My hubby is not romantic in any sense really. The most romantic thing we do is look at the cows together. It was sweet when we were younger and lived very much in the sticks but now I’m sure he could find something more romantic. Looks like you have a keeper.

    • I can think of one romantic thing I’d do if I were you…..go out at night and look at the stars together with a warm cuppa maybe. I’d love to do that; too bad you don’t get to see many stars in the city. Country skies are the most amazing. It always blows my mind. 🙂

  4. This is such a wonderful story… love shows in so many ways! T is romantic to a point but he does the things I do not think to ask for… surprises me every-time. I must say he has not had to use a ladder or mop… yet… but if I had to say I think he would. It is a lovely scarf and it is worth a million dollars now! I hope you have a little boy and girl so they can learn some human heart from their Dad… Tell me he has made some big points! ….RaeDi

    • Thanks, RaeDi. I don’t know if you watched Anne of Green Gables but I am always reminded by the portrayal of practical love shown by Gilbert Blythe to Anne Shirley. She initially couldn’t see it for what it was. “Anne, you have tricked something out of that imagination of yours that you call romance. Have you forgotten how he gave up the Avonlea school for you so that you could stay here with me? He picked you up everyday in his carriage so that you could study your courses together. Don’t toss it away for some ridiculous ideal that doesn’t exist.” – Marilla Cuthbert. I’ve got two girls but we can still both set them an example about love and romance!

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

