Grateful for the first time

Start and end your day with gratefulness

 

I’ve skipped across this meme week after week because nothing immediately pops into my mind when I think of the topic. However, this week, I’ve decided the thankful/grateful meme is actually a good one; possibly even life-changing.

The tough part is identifying things to be thankful for, when I’m so busy with the day-to-day humdrum. But it really is good to think about even the little things. Some people don’t even have access to those, like enough food, water, shelter. So;

  • I’m grateful to Bron for hosting this meme.
  • I’m grateful for the warmer weather which marks the impending start to Spring.
  • I’m grateful for the sunshine each day, because it helps me stay alert, despite my sleep-deprivation.
  • I’m grateful I’ve stumbled across the blogging community because it is challenging me and doing all sorts of wonders in my mind as I mull and muse over things. It’s also led me to lots of wonderful interaction over beautiful images especially via Pinterest and Instagram.
  • I’m grateful for photo challenges and simple apps on my iPhone, like Instagram, which have reinvigorated my interest and creative expression through photography.

And finally, whilst I could probably say this every day, I’ll say it now, being my first link-up:

  • I’m grateful for my family (mum, dad and siblings); and
  • I’m especially grateful for my loving and long-suffering husband and two beautiful girls whom we weren’t sure we would ever have.

Does being grateful come naturally to you or do you have to really work at it?

{image}

**************

I’m linking with Maxabella Loves for I’m Grateful for…..

26 thoughts on “Grateful for the first time

  1. I think sometimes being grateful is hard, especially when the world just seems out to get you. I too am Grateful for Bron as she has made me consciously think about being grateful and reminds me that even when it seems like you have nothing to be grateful for in a crappy week, even the smallest thing can make you smile.
    Great post x

    • Yes, it is hard at times. Crap is like the darkeness that suffocates the light of hope. . Today was my first grateful post and I must say, the idea of being grateful hung in my mind all day. It helps reading other posts too because they’re all about the same thing. Thanks for dropping by.

  2. One of my favourite things on the weekend is the chance to catch up on my blog reading. And I love all the grateful posts that pop up in my blogroll. Bron created something really special when she started that linky. And yes, yay for Spring!

    • Yes, it’s hard to keep up with all the passionate writing of bloggers but I do my best and this meme is one I can see being a brilliant one for me. I must say I’m grateful that after a spam message (!), you were the first real person to comment on my fledgling blog about 2 months ago. Since I see you as a bit of a star in this area, I am truly grateful to gave a newbie the support and encouragement of a look in, and that you continue to come back from time to time. I really appreciate that! Have a great rest of the weekend.

    • Yes, it is, though I know some people probably think we are just a weird lot! Too bad there are just not enough hours in the day to take in all the blogs out there. Thanks for visiting.

    • Thanks for dropping by to say “Hi”. I guess being grateful can be an attitude/perspective the you always carry with you. Some of us might ahve to work at it more but that doesn’t make one person any better than another. The world can always do with more positivity and happiness, amongst other things. It’s not a competition, although if it were, imagine how amazing it would be if everyone outdid everyone else with gratefulness! Thanks for dropping in.

    • Thank you! Right back at you, especially someone with an interest in the mixed experience. I meet barely any here, though they probably exist somewhere! For now, I’m grateful to dip in to your wonderful network on the other side of the world.

  3. Welcome! (this is my first time on this particular meme as well, but I do the other thankful one semi-regularly, it’s a bit like taking vitamins – it makes you feel better the more regularly you do it!)… The fantastic thing about exercising the gratitude muscle is that it responds very quickly to stimulus and before you know it you’ll be seeing stuff everywhere to be grateful and thankful for!

    • Thanks for coming to say “Hi”. I quite believe you. I’ve already had gratefulness on my mind most of the day and that can only be a good thing. I hope to see it make difference too.

  4. I’m naturally a grateful person! I find that financially and time-wise I cannot be as generous as I would like to be, but I am generous with my gratefulness!
    I love your gratefuls and love seeing you in the meme!

    • Thanks, Daisy! I make an effort to keep in it from now on. It’s made for an interesting day, as I’ve gone through the other posts, and I like it. I appreciate your look ins on my blog and via Twitter. You, amongst a few others, have made sliding into this community so easy, after I spent months sitting on the sidelines wondering whether I should jump in. Have a great Sunday!

  5. It’s a powerful linky that can remind us of what really matters in life, hey?
    Welcome!
    I second your vitamin D , family and blogging gratitude!
    :-).

  6. I like this meme too, but sometimes I find it very hard to find something to be grateful for. Sometimes I feel I am grateful for the same thing 2 weeks in a row and I don’t want to write it again. So have to think of something else. It is hard.

    • If I could, I’d probably write about being grateful for my family every week! think I’m going to collect the little things I feel grateful for and use them for the post. Yesterday I noticed quite a few things to be thankful for so i wrote them down. Otherwise I know there will be days my mind is in a spin and I won’t be able to think about being grateful even though that’s when I probably should! I’ll see how we go!

  7. lots of lovely things to be grateful for 🙂 I think that being grateful is pretty much in my nature so I don’t find it too hard….it is a lovely meme to be part of! have a fabulous week ahead! Tatum xx

  8. Well, it clearly comes naturally to me… but it wasn’t always so. Years ago I decided to take time out at the end of each week to try and get over myself. I was so busy focusing on the ‘what if’s and the ‘what’s nexts’ that I forgot about the here and now. It was very hard at first but eventually I cottoned on to the fact that it didn’t always have to be ‘big things’, most of the time it was the little things that actually make all the difference.

    The rest, as they say, is history!!

    Thank you so much for joining in, I’m very glad you’re here!

    x

    • I was actually rather inspired also by your numbered items that list what you are grateful for. I’m not sure what the story is there, but I’m guessing it’s like a 365 project? In any case, you’re doing a great thing with that meme. We can all work at experiencing and sending more positivity around. It’s already making me change how I view some things and I like that.

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

