Running on Empty

Lately I’ve been running on empty. I can’t find the spark to ignite my inspiration to write. That’s a real problem for a new blogger. I feel like there are words somewhere but I can’t catch them. I feel vague stirrings but I can’t quite put my finger on them. Maybe I just need to ‘be’. Just…………..be.

Just be{image}

I am reminded of two articles I read over the weekend that talked about mindfulness and being still.

I’m usually cooking up a storm of frenzied busyness whether literally or mentally, as if my frenzied state will get chores done faster or kick others into fast forward. Instead, the frenzy acts like a cyclone, sucking in more craziness till it’s all a huge, fuzzy blur.

Each of us works at our own pace. We all know toddlers don’t understand urgency. They just want to live in the moment, play, have fun, while we adults are rushing to get out the door, stress levels rising ever higher.

I’m going to do myself a favour and stop; take a leaf out of my toddler’s life about being in the moment, and read the articles again. Come take a moment and join me.

The Amazing Power of Being Present by Leo Babauta of Zen Habits

Don’t just do something; stand there by Christian McEwen, author of World Enough & Time: On Creativity and Slowing Down

Care to share your secrets for re-filling when you are running on empty?

“Drink your tea slowly and reverently,
as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves
– slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future.
Live the actual moment.
Only this moment is life”
– Thich Nhat Hanh

Japanese Tea Garden in San Francisco{image}

I’m joining with Jess from Diary of a SAHM for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

I Blog on Tuesdays

14 thoughts on “Running on Empty

  1. Love the first article. I really does make you think about being in the moment. i find I am never in the moment. always trying to do 5 things at once and up go the stress levels. I will come back to finish reading second article. I have to get the kids ready for swimming lessons – need to be in the moment or all hell will break loose trying to get out the door on time. x

    • I’m the same, trying to do so much at once then getting overwhelmed so not always getting much of anything, but the basics done. I’ve read some articles of late about how multitasking is overrated and ineffective but we still keep doing it. I wonder if it a sign of our times or if our parent’s generation, and the one before lived the same. I should ask!

  2. I am the same at the moment. I can blog still but life itself. Im running on empty. I spent too much time sitting here on the internet. I need some inspiration in my life too. Ill go read those articles once i get on the Pc 🙂

    • I think I found it was because I was on the net so much that I’ve needed some freshness. There are so many blogs to read and information overload can just paralyse my brain. Problem is that trying to establish a blog requires quite a bit of that. Bit of a catch 22. Balance; that’s the answer, but a state of being so difficult to attain! But we gotta keep trying. As Yo Gabba Gabba sing, “Keep trying, keep trying, don’t give up, don’t give up!” (you can tell I’ve got a toddler in the house) 😉

    • So true, but hard to do! I think sometimes the frenzy is like an addiction. It needs conscious effort to change but it really is essential, when all is said and done.

  3. the moment. wow. it can be hard when there are so many competing priorities. It really is an art but also so important to respect your own needs instead of everyone else.

    thanks so much for being so thought provoking.

    • Oh, you’re welcome! I need the kick along and reminder as much as anyone else. I think you’ve hot the nail on the head. It is an art, to be learned, honed and normalised till it becomes an innate skill. Baby steps till we get there.

  4. Hi,
    Thanks for visiting my blog. It seems we have much in common, as well as being “older” mums with 2 terrors. I am also very interested in mindfulness and am trying to slow down and actually put what I know into practice. It sounds so easy…
    Thanks so much for sharing these articles, I need to keep reading articles like these to keep me motivated and on track.
    Take care, Lee

    • Thanks for visiting back. I don’t know that there are many mums in the blogosphere in our demographic. I know there are a couple but many seem younger, as much as 20 years younger! (ouch!) I’m glad the articles struck a chord. It is so much easier said than done but I know I must keep trying. When I don’t, and my world becomes a frenzied blur, I’m not really any good to anyone, my hubby, my girls, nor myself. They don’t need me short-circuiting and losing my temper. It’s never really a productive way about things.

  5. My favorite song at the moment is ‘just breathe,’ thought I can’t remember who it’s by.

    Sometimes I need to take a moment just to breathe, or be, as you say. Ignore the housework, put my feet up and enjoy a cup of tea. Or enjoy my kids. So many times I don’t even hear them because their conversations take time, and I just don’t have it.
    Sad, isn’t it. Thanks for this post.

    • I’m by no means perfect at being in the moment, but I think if I keep reminding myself, I will hopefully make a habit of it one day. It’s often said not being there for those we love is what we’ll regret the most at the end of our days. Gotta keep remembering this.

  6. I struggle with this too. But disconnecting from the online world and reconnecting with real life this week really gave me the chance to organise myself and be less consumed by all that is alluring online. I found blog posts practically wrote themselves because I was in such a good head space. It’s so easy to be drawn into the bloggersphere and social media. It’s taken me 6mths to realise a balance, and that I need to be the one in control and setting the boundaries instead of unproductive hours with my head in my PC meaning the world is passing me by.

    • It’s an occupational hazard being a blogger. You need to be online and yet sometimes that is exactly what you shouldn’t be doing for reasons of new inspiration, life balance, other priorities, etc. I think it’s tough being a fairly new blogger too. It seems like you need this online time to learn the ropes and make connections. Catch 22 indeed. Though I’ve spent less time on lately, I’m still looking for a balance that really works for me. Glad to hear you’ve found it. Thanks for dropping by.

Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts!

